Education ·

University grading scales in Pakistan: marks, grade points and degree minimums

The grading system and GPA formula of each Pakistani university, from HEC's scale to PU, COMSATS, NUST, QAU, BZU and more, from published documents.

In all 15 sets of university rules we read, GPA is credit-weighted: each course’s grade point times its credit hours, summed and divided by the total credit hours, and CGPA does the same over every course taken. What differs is how a course result becomes a grade point. HEC recommends a table; COMSATS (Fall 2021 onward) is the only one of the 15 that adopts HEC’s marks bands and single grade points unchanged. Others give their own points per letter or start A at a different mark (UAF and QAU at 80%), some convert marks straight to grade points, and some publish letters only. The same 78% is 3.33 under HEC, 3.30 under PU, 3.80 under QAU and 3.90 at BZU. Each university below is set out from a document published by or for it, read in October 2026; for BZU that is an institute handbook; each block says how sure we are. UAF converts marks within each grade band to quality points through a table it does not publish, so UAF is listed by its letter grades only. The CGPA calculator works your GPA on any of these scales.

HEC’s Policy Guidelines for Implementation of Uniform Semester System give each letter a range of grade points (table 13.1); an older draft gave one value per letter, the top of each range, which COMSATS adopted. A CGPA converts to the lowest percentage of the band whose range holds it, so 3.00 is 71%. The minimum CGPA to complete a degree is 2.00 for BS and 2.50 for MS and MPhil (section 15.1).

HEC table 13.1 (semester system).
LetterMarksGrade point rangeSingle value (COMSATS)
A85% and above3.67–4.004.00
A-80–84%3.34–3.663.66
B+75–79%3.01–3.333.33
B71–74%2.67–3.003.00
B-68–70%2.34–2.662.66
C+64–67%2.01–2.332.33
C61–63%1.67–2.002.00
C-58–60%1.31–1.661.66
D+54–57%1.01–1.301.30
D50–53%0.10–1.001.00
FBelow 50%0.000.00

For degrees taken under the annual system, HEC has a separate table (13.2):

HEC table 13.2 (annual system only).
GradeGrade pointsMarks
A4.0085% and above
A-3.66–3.9970–84%
B2.66–3.6555–69%
C1.66–2.6545–54%
D1.00–1.6533–44%
F0.00Less than 33%, fail

Universities with marks bands and fixed grade points

These turn your marks into a letter by bands, and each letter carries one grade point. The bands and points differ: 80% is an A at QAU and IIUI but an A− at PU and COMSATS.

HEC recommended scale (COMSATS uses it exactly, from Fall 2021)

LetterMarksGrade point
A85% and above4.00
A-80–84%3.66
B+75–79%3.33
B71–74%3.00
B-68–70%2.66
C+64–67%2.33
C61–63%2.00
C-58–60%1.66
D+54–57%1.30
D50–53%1.00
FBelow 50%0.00

HEC's guidelines give each letter a range of grade points and say nothing about rounding; COMSATS (notification of 18 November 2021) adopted the top of each range and rounds marks half up (70.5 = 71), which is what this scheme applies. COMSATS awards the MS degree at CGPA 2.5 (Graduate Handbook 2023); its BS programme pages state 2.0. Students admitted before Fall 2021 were on COMSATS's earlier scale, listed separately. Marks rounding: COMSATS: nearest mark, .5 up. Minimum CGPA: HEC guideline, BS 2.00; HEC guideline, MS / MPhil 2.50; COMSATS MS/MPhil (Graduate Handbook 2023, s.3.7) 2.50; COMSATS BS (BBA and BS A&F programme pages) 2.00.

Source: HEC, Policy Guidelines for Implementation of Uniform Semester System, s.13-15; COMSATS notification, 18 November 2021; COMSATS Graduate Handbook 2023, s.2.10 and 3.7 (verified).

COMSATS, admitted before Fall 2021

LetterMarksGrade point
A90% and above4.00
A-85–89%3.70
B+80–84%3.30
B75–79%3.00
B-70–74%2.70
C+65–69%2.30
C60–64%2.00
C-55–59%1.70
D50–54%1.30
FBelow 50%0.00

COMSATS's scale for students admitted before Fall 2021: A from 90%, D 1.3 at 50-54 and no D+. Marks are assigned in whole numbers. Students admitted before Fall 2021 needed 60% (C) to pass a graduate course; from Fall 2021, 50% (D). Marks rounding: Whole marks (marks are assigned in whole numbers). Minimum CGPA: BS (programme pages) 2.00.

Source: COMSATS Sahiwal, Examinations and Grading (BS A&F); CIIT Virtual Campus handbook, Grading System (2012, Internet Archive copy) (partly verified, before Fall 2021).

University of the Punjab (PU) and its affiliated colleges

LetterMarksGrade point
A85% and above4.00
A-80–84%3.70
B+75–79%3.30
B70–74%3.00
B-65–69%2.70
C+61–64%2.30
C58–60%2.00
C-55–57%1.70
D50–54%1.00
FBelow 50%0.00

Any fraction of a mark counts as a whole mark (64.1 = 65). CGPA is worked from each course's grade point, not from semester GPAs. PU's 'Obtained Percent Marks' is the credit-weighted average of course marks. Pass: 50% cumulative (D). MS/MPhil also needs no subject below 2.30; PhD coursework 3.00. Standing: first semester GPA under 2.00 is probation and under 1.50 dropped; later CGPA cut-offs 2.00 and 1.70. Marks rounding: Any fraction counts as a whole mark (64.1 = 65). Minimum CGPA: Bachelor's 2.00; MS / MPhil 2.50.

Source: PU Semester Rules and Regulations for Undergraduate Studies 2023, s.11; PU Semester Rules for Affiliated Colleges, s.11 (verified).

Quaid-i-Azam University (QAU)

LetterMarksGrade point
A80% and above4.00
A-76–79%3.80
B+72–75%3.50
B68–71%3.00
B-64–67%2.80
C+60–63%2.50
C55–59%2.00
D50–54%1.00
FBelow 50%0.00

Marks are rounded to the nearest whole number. QAU's current rules (qau.edu.pk, read 27 October 2026) keep the same table as the 2011 regulations, and add that the CGPA is rounded to one decimal place, both for a student's standing each semester and at the end of studies, and that the transcript also shows an overall percentage worked by QAU's own formula. CGPA 2.0 is the good-standing line (1.0 to 2.0 is probation, under 1.0 dropped; failing to reach 2.0 a fourth time ends studentship), not a stated degree minimum. This calculator shows the CGPA to two decimals; QAU's transcript shows one. Marks rounding: Nearest whole mark.

Source: QAU, Rules and Regulations relating to BS Program (Morning/Evening), qau.edu.pk (current); QAU Regulations Relating to BS Programmes (2011), s.7.4.4 (verified, current rules, read 2026-10-27).

International Islamic University Islamabad (IIUI)

LetterMarksGrade point
A80% and above4.00
B+75–79%3.50
B70–74%3.00
C+65–69%2.50
C60–64%2.00
D+55–59%1.50
D50–54%1.00
FBelow 50%0.00

Absolute grading, half-point steps, A from 80%. This university does not say how a fraction of a mark is treated, so enter the whole mark on your result sheet. Pass 50%; probation 1.00 to 2.00. Marks rounding: Not stated. Minimum CGPA: Undergraduate 2.00.

Source: IIUI Academic Regulations for Undergraduate Studies, Spring 2024, s.9 (verified).

University of Karachi (KU), all programmes except School of Law

LetterMarksGrade point
A+90% and above4.00
A85–89%4.00
A-80–84%3.80
B+75–79%3.40
B71–74%3.00
B-68–70%2.80
C+64–67%2.40
C61–63%2.00
C-57–60%1.80
D+53–56%1.40
D50–52%1.00
FBelow 50%0.00

KU's central rule (Prospectus 2026, pp. 29-30): 50% to pass a course except in Business Administration, with theory and practical as separate passing heads; the same grade table and CGPR formula for all programmes except the School of Law; 2.2 or 2.45 CGPR for the degree, whichever applies to the programme. No rounding rule is stated, so enter the whole mark on your result sheet. Marks rounding: Not stated. Minimum CGPA: Degree, programmes set at 2.2 CGPR 2.20; Degree, programmes set at 2.45 CGPR 2.45.

Source: University of Karachi, Prospectus 2026, pp. 29-30 (grading, pass mark, degree CGPR); KU Department of Visual Studies, programmes (grading); KU Department of Economics, programmes (verified, Prospectus 2026).

University of Sindh (2K21 batch onward)

LetterMarksGrade point
A+85% and above4.00
A80–84%3.60
B+75–79%3.20
B70–74%2.80
C+65–69%2.40
C60–64%2.00
D+55–59%1.50
D50–54%1.00
FBelow 50%0.00

Grade point x credit hours is called quality points; the arithmetic is the same. This university does not say how a fraction of a mark is treated, so enter the whole mark on your result sheet. Marks rounding: Not stated. Minimum CGPA: Undergraduate 2.00; MS / MPhil / PhD 2.50.

Source: University of Sindh, Grading Policy (verified).

University of Sindh (2K20 batch and older)

LetterMarksGrade point
A80% and above4.00
B60–79%3.00
C50–59%2.00
D40–49%1.00
FBelow 40%0.00

The scheme for batches before 2021. The 2.00 degree minimum is stated once on the page, not by batch. This university does not say how a fraction of a mark is treated, so enter the whole mark on your result sheet. Marks rounding: Not stated. Minimum CGPA: Undergraduate 2.00.

Source: University of Sindh, Grading Policy (verified).

Allama Iqbal Open University (AIOU), Autumn 2021 onward

LetterMarksGrade point
A85% and above4.00
A-80–84%3.70
B+75–79%3.30
B70–74%3.00
B-65–69%2.70
C+60–64%2.30
C55–59%2.00
C-52–54%1.70
D50–51%1.00
FBelow 50%0.00

BS students also need 50% in the final exam itself as well as 50% overall (BS prospectus, Autumn 2023). Older cohorts on AIOU's earlier letter-only scheme (A+ 80% and above down to D 40-49%, no grade points) are not modelled. Marks rounding: Bands as printed.

Source: AIOU Prospectus, Associate Degree Programs, Autumn 2025; AIOU Prospectus BS Programmes, Autumn 2023 (verified).

University of Agriculture Faisalabad (UAF), undergraduate (letter grades)

LetterMarksGrade point
A80% and above4.00
B65–79%3.00
C50–64%2.00
D40–49%1.00
FBelow 40%0.00

UAF's grades are A 80-100% = 4, B 65-79% = 3, C 50-64% = 2, D 40-49% = 1, F below 40% (Undergraduate Prospectus 2025-26, regulation 15). UAF then converts the marks within each band to quality points progressively through a conversion table that it does not publish, so this calculator uses the whole grade point for the letter, which is what the prospectus prints; your transcript's quality points can sit between these values. Pass needs 40% in theory and practical separately, with a fraction of 0.5 or more rounded up to a whole mark; CGPA 1.50 is needed at the end of each academic year. Marks rounding: Marks: a fraction of 0.5 or above counts as a whole mark. Minimum CGPA: Undergraduate degree 2.50; Continuation each academic year 1.50.

Source: UAF Undergraduate Programs Prospectus 2025-26, regulations 13-15 (grades, pass rule, degree CGPA 2.50); UAF Controller of Examinations, AwardSoft v15.2 manual (grade cut-offs, pass at 40%) (verified, Prospectus 2025-26).

Universities that convert marks straight to grade points

These give a grade point for every mark, so 71% and 74% earn different points even where they would share a letter elsewhere.

Bahauddin Zakariya University (BZU), marks to points

BZU's Ready Reckoner gives one grade point per mark: 2 + (marks - 50)/15 to one decimal, 4.0 from 80 (checked against every row). It appears in a BZU institute handbook; the university-wide semester rules are not published online (the prospectus says a copy can be obtained from the Registrar). Pass 50/100; most BS programmes need CGPA 2.0 each semester and 2.20 at the end (Prospectus 2026). Enter the whole mark on your result sheet: the published table has whole marks only. Minimum CGPA: Most BS programmes (Prospectus 2026), end of programme; 2.0 each semester 2.20; BS RS&GIS 2.00.

Source: BZU IMS Students Handbook 2023-24, s.6 (Ready Reckoner Table); BZU Prospectus 2026 (pass mark, CGPA 2.20 for completion) (partly verified).

AIOU, earlier GPA/CGPA scheme (marks to points)

Grade point = 2 + 0.067 x (marks - 50), to two decimals, 4.00 from 80; this reproduces every row of AIOU's published table. Enter the whole mark on your result sheet: the published table has whole marks only.

Source: AIOU Prospectus BS Programmes, Autumn 2023 (verified).

University of Peshawar, marks to points

University of Peshawar Semester Regulations 2010, section 28: one value per mark, 49.5 counts as 50, GPA reported to two decimals. The regulations apply to all degree programmes of the university and its constituent and affiliated institutions and are published on the College of Home Economics subdomain, live as of 27 October 2026; the university publishes no later regulations.

Source: University of Peshawar Semester Regulations 2010, s.28 (College of Home Economics page) (verified, Semester Regulations 2010).

Universities that publish letters only

These publish grade points per letter but no fixed marks bands. NUST, GCU, UET (for theory subjects) and VU grade relatively, by class performance; FAST’s letters are awarded by the instructor on overall performance. Enter the letter on your result, or at VU the grade point.

NUST (relative grading)

LetterGrade point
A4.00
B+3.50
B3.00
C+2.50
C2.00
D+1.50
D1.00
F0.00

Relative grading: the letter comes from your position in the class, so enter the letters from your result. D+ and D are for undergraduates only. Architecture and industrial design use an absolute scale (A 80% and above down to D 40-44%), not modelled here. Pass needs grade point 1.0 in each course. Minimum CGPA: Most BS programmes 2.00; BBA, BS Economics and some social sciences 2.50.

Source: NUST Undergraduate Student Handbook, 28 August 2024, paras 19-22 (verified).

FAST-NUCES

LetterGrade point
A+4.00
A4.00
A-3.67
B+3.33
B3.00
B-2.67
C+2.33
C2.00
C-1.67
D+1.33
D1.00
F0.00

Letters are awarded by the instructor on overall performance and FAST publishes no percentage bands, so enter the letters from your result. For a repeated course only the latest grade counts. Standing: warning under 2.0; three warnings close the admission. Minimum CGPA: BS 2.00.

Source: FAST-NUCES Academic Rules for Undergraduate Programs, August 2023, s.2 (verified).

UET Lahore (relative grading)

LetterGrade point
A+4.00
A4.00
A-3.70
B+3.30
B3.00
B-2.70
C+2.30
C2.00
C-1.70
D+1.30
D1.00
F0.00

Relative grading for theory (Type-A) subjects; Type-B and C subjects may be graded on an absolute scale. From the Undergraduate Semester Regulations 2015. Warning or probation under CGPA 2.0. Minimum CGPA: Undergraduate 2.00.

Source: UET Lahore Undergraduate Semester Regulations 2015, s.10-11 (verified, 2015 regulations, still linked as current (checked 2026-10-27)).

GC University Lahore (relative grading)

LetterGrade point
A+4.00
A3.70
B+3.30
B3.00
B-2.70
C+2.30
C2.00
C-1.70
D1.00
F0.00

Only A+ earns 4.0; A is 3.7. Theory and practical are graded relatively; project, dissertation and internship on an absolute scale. Pass needs 50% in semester work and in the final separately, with no grace marks. Under CGPA 1.50 means re-admission, 1.50 to 2.00 probation. Minimum CGPA: Four-year BS 2.30.

Source: GC University Lahore Examination Regulations (Syndicate, 7 August 2021) (verified).

Virtual University (VU): enter grade points

VU grades relatively and gives a range of grade points for most letters (A- 3.66-3.99 and so on) without saying how the value inside a range is set, so enter the grade point shown on your result for each course. Pass needs 40% overall with at least 20% in formative work and in the final. A repeated course counts once, with the higher grade point.

Source: VU Grading Scheme (verified).

How do you convert a CGPA to a percentage?

Only HEC’s rule, which COMSATS also publishes, converts a CGPA to a percentage: the lowest mark of the band the CGPA falls in. PU works an Obtained Percent Marks figure instead, the credit-weighted average of your course marks, and for admission merit PU multiplies a semester-system graduate’s marks by 0.85 (PU, Conversion of Grades/Marks), an admission rule rather than a CGPA formula. No other university’s conversion was read, and those that grade relatively publish none.

Universities revise their rules and departments can apply them differently, so your transcript and your university’s current regulations govern.

Do the arithmetic

Calculators for this article

New

CGPA Calculator

GPA and CGPA on the HEC scale or your university's, from grades or marks.

Open tool

Percentage Calculator

Percent of, percent change, increase and decrease.

Open tool