Everyday & conversion · Section 236Y · Tax Year 2026-2027

Domain Price Calculator (Dollar to PKR)

Enter a domain’s dollar price and the rate your bank charges for a dollar. The calculator gives the rupees the registrar’s price comes to, adds the 0.5% section 236Y advance tax your bank collects on card payments abroad (1% off the Active Taxpayers’ List) and your bank’s fee, and shows the total that leaves your account. A $15.00 domain at an illustrative Rs 280 per dollar costs Rs 4,221 before any bank fee.

The registrar’s yearly price. A first-year offer and the renewal price often differ: enter the one you will pay.
An ICANN fee, privacy protection or anything else the registrar adds, as the dollar total for the whole order.
The rate the bank applies to card purchases in US dollars, from the card statement or the bank's rate sheet, not the interbank or open-market rate.
The foreign transaction or currency conversion fee in the bank's schedule of bank charges, as a percentage of the rupee amount. Blank if the card has none or the bank builds it into its rate.
The sales tax on services or federal excise duty the bank adds to its fee. Blank if the schedule quotes the fee inclusive of tax. The sales tax on services calculator has each province's rate.
Only if your bank takes it: Sindh and Punjab make banks collect provincial sales tax on certain services bought from abroad. Neither list names domain registration: Sindh's covers software and IT services by their codes and Punjab's names web hosting, so whether a bare domain falls in either is not stated.
Example: a $15.00 domain for one year at an illustrative Rs 280 per dollar, without a bank fee and with a 3% fee taxed at 16%. Your own figures replace it.
LineFiler (0.5%)Not on the list (1%)
$15.00 at Rs 280: rupees remittedRs 4,200Rs 4,200
Section 236Y tax on topRs 21Rs 42
Total, no bank feeRs 4,221Rs 4,242
Bank fee 3% plus 16% tax on itRs 146Rs 146
Total with that feeRs 4,367Rs 4,388
All in, per dollarRs 291.13Rs 292.53

Reading the result · Tax Year 2026-2027

Why is the rupee figure more than price times rate?

Three things sit on top of the conversion. Your bank collects 0.5% of the rupee amount it remits abroad under section 236Y, in addition to the payment, because the registrar is a person outside Pakistan: on the Rs 4,200 example that is Rs 21. Many banks then charge a foreign transaction fee on card purchases in another currency, and add sales tax on services, or federal excise duty in Islamabad, to that fee. Both come from the bank’s schedule of bank charges, so the calculator takes them as inputs rather than guessing them. The bank’s fee is not part of the amount remitted abroad, which is the section 236Y base, so the page does not tax it. The 236Y tax is advance tax: it counts against your tax for the year when you file. The foreign card payment tax calculator works the same tax out from a rupee amount.

The rate can matter more than the tax

The rate your card is charged at is the bank’s own, and the interbank or open-market rate in the news may not be the one on your statement. On a $15.00 domain, a rate Rs 5 per dollar higher adds Rs 75 to the cost, against Rs 21 of tax. Enter the rate from a recent statement or the bank’s card rate sheet, and check the renewal price, which many registrars set higher than the first year.

Provincial sales tax at the card

In Sindh, a bank or other entity the State Bank authorises to transfer money abroad collects Sindh sales tax on the gross amount remitted when a recipient based in Sindh pays a provider not resident in Pakistan: 3% on software or IT-based services, including cloud-based content streaming. A company on the sales tax Active Taxpayers' List (SRB's or FBR's) is excluded (Sindh Sales Tax Special Procedure (Tax on Specified Services) Rules 2023, rules 1(2) and 3, as amended by SRB Notification SRB-3-4/45/2025). In Punjab, banks and other financial institutions are collecting agents for Punjab sales tax on services bought through websites from a person with no place of business in Pakistan by persons in Punjab receiving them in the course of an economic activity: 5%, without input tax, on IT services, including web hosting (PRA Notification PRA.32-24/2022/561, as amended). The list does not name content streaming. Whether a purchase outside a business is in the course of an economic activity is not settled. Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Balochistan and Islamabad tax services from non-residents in the hands of the recipient, but no rule was found making a bank collect that tax at the card. Whether your bank applies the provincial tax to a particular purchase, and under which heading, is its decision on the rules above; your card statement shows it. Choose it here only if your bank takes it. Neither list names domain registration: Sindh's covers software and IT services by their codes and Punjab's names web hosting, so whether a bare domain falls in either is not stated.

Where this stops

A registrar outside Pakistan charges no Pakistani sales tax. The bank's own fee is a banking service, on which the bank charges provincial sales tax on services, or federal excise duty in Islamabad, at the rate for its branch: that is the 'tax on the bank fee' input. Provincial sales tax collected by the bank on the purchase itself is a separate choice above. The Digital Presence Proceeds Tax Act 2025 charged tax on payments to foreign vendors for digitally ordered goods and services. S.R.O. 1366(I)/2025 of 30 July 2025 directs that the tax shall not apply to digitally ordered goods and services supplied from outside Pakistan, from 1 July 2025; the Act itself was not repealed. No digital presence tax is added. Section 152(1C): a bank remitting a fee for offshore digital services to a non-resident, on behalf of a resident, deducts tax from the gross amount at Division IV of Part I of the First Schedule (15% for such a fee; FBR's rates card prints 10%, and the card itself says the statute prevails). The definition in section 2(22B) names online advertising including digital advertising space, hosting websites, "digital or cyber space for websites", e-mails, online computing and the distribution of digital content, so on its text a payment for these is such a fee; Google's help page for Pakistan calls Google Ads one and says a customer may need to deposit the tax. Nothing in the Ordinance makes this and section 236Y alternatives. No source was found showing that banks deduct section 152(1C) on card payments, so this page adds none; if your bank does, your card statement shows it. Section 153(2A), with section 6A: 1% on digital payments and 2% on cash on delivery for goods or services ordered through locally operated e-commerce platforms (First Schedule Part I Division IVA; collection under Part III Division III para (3A)), collected by payment intermediaries and couriers from the amount payable to the seller. A provider abroad is not a locally operated platform, so it does not reach this purchase. Section 152 deductions are on the non-resident withholding tax calculator. A domain paid for in rupees to a Pakistani reseller is not a payment abroad, so the section 236Y tax and the bank’s foreign transaction fee fall away; the reseller’s receipt shows what it charged.

FAQs

Domain cost questions

How much tax is there on buying a domain from abroad in Pakistan?

Section 236Y is the tax every such payment carries: your bank collects 0.5% of the rupee amount it remits, on top of the payment, and withholds 1% if you are not on the Active Taxpayers' List. A $15.00 domain at an illustrative Rs 280 per dollar is Rs 4,200; the tax is Rs 21 (Rs 42 off the list), so Rs 4,221 leaves your account before any bank fee. The 0.5% is adjustable against your tax for the year (section 236Y(2)); the extra off the list only with a return filed in time. Your bank's fee usually carries sales tax too; in Sindh or Punjab the bank may also collect provincial sales tax on the purchase, and a bank may apply section 152(1C) (see below).

Does my bank add provincial sales tax on a domain or hosting bought from abroad?

In Sindh, a bank or other entity the State Bank authorises to transfer money abroad collects Sindh sales tax on the gross amount remitted when a recipient based in Sindh pays a provider not resident in Pakistan: 3% on software or IT-based services, including cloud-based content streaming. A company on the sales tax Active Taxpayers' List (SRB's or FBR's) is excluded (Sindh Sales Tax Special Procedure (Tax on Specified Services) Rules 2023, rules 1(2) and 3, as amended by SRB Notification SRB-3-4/45/2025). In Punjab, banks and other financial institutions are collecting agents for Punjab sales tax on services bought through websites from a person with no place of business in Pakistan by persons in Punjab receiving them in the course of an economic activity: 5%, without input tax, on IT services, including web hosting (PRA Notification PRA.32-24/2022/561, as amended). The list does not name content streaming. Whether a purchase outside a business is in the course of an economic activity is not settled. Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Balochistan and Islamabad tax services from non-residents in the hands of the recipient, but no rule was found making a bank collect that tax at the card. Neither list names domain registration: Sindh's covers software and IT services by their codes and Punjab's names web hosting, so whether a bare domain falls in either is not stated. Where the bank takes 3% on the Rs 4,200 example, that adds Rs 126.

What if I am not on the Active Taxpayers' List?

Not excluded by Tenth Schedule rule 10, so doubled to 1% off the Active Taxpayers' List (rule 1; the TY2027 card shows 0.50% / 1.00%). The extra is adjustable against the tax payable in a return for that year filed before the Commissioner's provisional assessment, or within 45 days of its order with the returns and wealth statements for that year and the year before (rules 3, 4(2), 4(3)).

Which exchange rate should I enter?

The rate your bank applies to a card purchase in dollars, from a recent statement or the bank's card rate sheet, which can differ from the interbank rate in the news. On a $15.00 domain, a rate Rs 5 higher adds Rs 75, more than the Rs 21 tax.

Is the digital presence tax added to a domain purchase?

No. The Digital Presence Proceeds Tax Act 2025 charged tax on payments to foreign vendors for digitally ordered goods and services. S.R.O. 1366(I)/2025 of 30 July 2025 directs that the tax shall not apply to digitally ordered goods and services supplied from outside Pakistan, from 1 July 2025; the Act itself was not repealed. No digital presence tax is added.

Does it work for hosting, Google Workspace or any other dollar payment?

Yes. The calculation is the same for any purchase from abroad on a Pakistani card: the rupee amount remitted, the section 236Y tax on it, and your bank's fee. Set years to 1 and enter the amount as the price. Section 2(22B) defines offshore digital services to include hosting, space for websites, e-mail and online computing, so for these (and arguably the domain itself) a bank may also deduct section 152(1C) tax, at 15% of the payment; this page does not add it, and your card statement shows whether it was charged. For monthly or yearly subscriptions, use the online subscription price calculator.

Sources

Where the rate comes from

Section 236Y was inserted by the Finance Act 2022 with Division XXVII at 1%; the Finance Act 2023 substituted 5% for 1%, and the Finance Act 2026 substituted 0.5% for 5% (footnotes to First Schedule, Part IV, Division XXVII). An earlier section 236Y had been omitted by the Finance Act 2021. Read on .

Related tools

Paying abroad every month?

Work out the section 236Y tax on a subscription over a year, from the rupee amount.

Open Foreign Card Payment Tax Calculator